top of page
  • talkbusywithlizzy

Beta reading

Prior to publishing, authors have many people read over their work to make it the best they can be. It's important to authors that their books are as close to perfect as possible because they truly want their story to make the biggest impact they can. These stories are important to the author and readers and that's the beauty of novel writing. The impacts that can be made and the lives that can be changed is crazy.


And that's why authors have different types of readers prior to publishing. These readers are alpha readers, beta readers, editors, and arc readers.


Alpha readers are the first people to have eyes on the book after writing. Sometimes the book won't even be fully finished. There may be parts missing or the ending isn't perfect yet.


Beta readers are the next set of readers. The book is finished but the author might add some things. Beta readers give advice on the flow of the story, grammar, and encouraging comments.


I got to be a beta reader for After the Leaves Fell by Ella Justice. Her book was wonderful and I loved reading other people's insight and giving bits of my own. I think there's a lot of beauty in that. I can't wait to read the official cut of the book and see how the book is received by others!


Then you obviously have your editors who go through the book and made edits. They do more or less depending on what you hire them for.


I have used one editor so far and am using a new one on this next book. I love their insight and seeing the comments they have as they read and get into the story.


ARC readers are the last set of readers. ARC stands for advanced reader copy. These authors read the book and help market the book on their own social medias. Then when the book comes out, the arc reader writes and publishes a review.


I got to be an arc reader for the book, The Tides of Our Sins by Amy Tackett. It was such a blessing to be a part of her team. Her book was short, but extremely powerful. I want to talk about it as often as I can. I think it can really make a big impact.


I hope this post helps you understand the team that helps an author release their book and gives you two new amazing books to read.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Black Eye Peas

Just over a week ago I got a black eye. To be completely honest, I didn't want to leave the house or post TikToks with it because I was...

Ellensburg Rodeo

Have you ever been to event that just makes you feel like you're at home? This is how I feel about the Ellensburg Rodeo. That may be a...

Comments


bottom of page